HOME MADE CLEANERS !!

cleaning-the-bathroom-clipart-HjgYBathroom-cleaning1

People I know are tired of paying big bucks for store-bought cleaners than almost require a gas mask in order to use safely. Plus, many homemade versions work just as good, if not better than the commercial brands. So whatโ€™s not to love!? 2 years ago when I moved to India , my worst nightmare came true , the tenants had destroyed my house and bathrooms , yes it was a mistake of renting my house to friends while I was away ! fingers burnt lesson learnt ,I still have the pics but I donโ€™t know where they are , If I find them i will update this post . It was time to deep clean my faucet and get rid of some mineral deposits that had built up in a hard to clean spot. I have had used vinegar before on the mineral deposits on my shower head with great results, so I knew it would probably do the trick on my bathroom faucet too. ย  I wanted to let the vinegar sit on the mineral deposits on the faucet and soak for awhile and was very happy with the results of this method of vinegar soaked paper toweling. It worked perfectly! Unfortunately I did this 2 years ago and donโ€™t have the pics.

Stay on top of shower messes and problems with these simple tips .

1. SHOWER SURFACE CLEANING SOLUTIONS:

Shower & Tub Home Made Cleaner

Ingredients ; 1/2 Cup White Vinegar 2 Tablespoons Of Dishwashing Soap ( I Use Dettol Soap / Used Dawn Blue Before ) Spray Bottle Gloves Toothbrush Old Rags

Vinegar works great and this trick is no exception. Heat 1/2 cup white vinegar in the microwave for 90 seconds and then place into a spray bottle.

Add 2 table spoons of dish soap to the bottle and shake gently. Spray the potion onto the surface of the tub and shower.

Let it set for a couple hours and then rinse and scrub it with water and a nylon brush. Another similar method, and the one I do not prefer, is to use a dish-washing sponge with a built in soap dispenser. Fill up the soap dispenser with half vinegar and half dish soap. During your next shower, use the sponge to clean the surfaces, you can try it out though it didnโ€™t work for me !

Shower Tile cleanerย 

IMG_6152

Ingredients Baking Soda (As Needed ) Dishwashing Liquid ( As Needed )

Make a thick paste of both and apply the paste on to the shower tiles and let it stay for 10 minutes .

Wash it down with hot water and a squeegee so no streaks are formed .

SHOWER TILE MESS BUSTER: Another method I tried for Deep cleaning and removing mineral deposits was Baking soda & Bleach Ingredients : Baking Soda 2 cups Bleach – 1/4 cup or less Make a thick paste of both and apply the paste on to the shower tiles and let it stay for 10 minutes . Wash it down with hot water and a squeegee so no streaks are formed . IMG_6127 IMG_6128 I did use this method when I moved into my house but I donโ€™t use bleach that often coz of the fumes they give . unless its absolutely important for u to do this , I suggest wear old clothes and gloves and donโ€™t forget a mask ! * Keep the area well ventilated !!

Shower faucet & shower head

To deep clean shower faucet and get rid of some mineral deposits that had built up in a hard to clean spot. I have had used vinegar before on the mineral deposits on my shower head with great results, so I knew it would probably do the trick on my bathroom faucet and tiles too. I wanted to let the vinegar sit on the mineral deposits on the faucet and sprayed vinegar on the shower walls and soak for awhile and was very happy with the results of this method of vinegar It worked perfectly! Unfortunately I did this 2 years ago and donโ€™t have those pics. but I did this yesterday and here are the results .

IMG_6111 IMG_6122

2 ).PREVENTING DRAIN CLOGS:

Drain clog cleaner
Ingredients ; baking soda 2 cups white vinegar 1 cup hot boiling water 2 cups

A lot of clog prevention starts with what gets flushed down the drain. Look out for items like hair, grease, or soap scum. But it takes more than just some problematic to clog up a pipe. Grime and scale building up on the inside of the pipe provides a good adhesive for catching the debris. Drop a couple cups of baking soda down the drain and 1 cup of vinegar and mind you it will explode , wait for 10- 15 minutes . Pour 2 – 3 cups of hot boiling water to remove the buildup. It is much easier to prevent the problem than to deal with it later. ( I have to do this weekly for my Kitchen sink pipes as they get clogged every single day ).

Do this as a part of ย  ย monthly bathroom cleaning challenge!

3.CLEAN THE TOILETS;

Ingredients; 1 cup Baking Soda 1 cup white Vinegar Spray bottle toilet brush Gloves

Your toilet is one of the dirtiest areas in the entire bathroom. When it comes to cleaning the toilet you have a few options. You can use baking soda or vinegar. You will want to make sure that you clean every area on the outside of the toilet, the inside of the toilet and make sure to get behind the toilet. Using a good scrubbing brush will help you get every inch of the toilet clean. If you have any odors around the toilet letting some baking soda sit will help take care of an unpleasant odor. I do have a pic but somehow not really comfy sharing it here !

2) Pumice stone

I have also found out that tough stains and rings around the toilet bowls can be cleaned & removed by Pumice stone Scrub with the stone around the rings and wash I have done this and I promise it works Way better than you think !

4).ALL PURPOSE CLEANER

Ingredients few drops of Liquid soap / Dishwashing soap 1 cup white Vinegar 1 cup water few drops of lemon spray bottle
IMG_6149
put the above things in a spray bottle , mix well and u can use it to almost clean anything !!

5).DUSTING SPRAY:

Ingredients : 2 teaspoon olive oil 1 teaspoon Lemon juice 1/4 cup White vinegar 1 cup hot water spray bottle

Stir & Shake to mix well ! and put it in a spray bottle , Oil helps to remove all the dust and keeps them from happening again at least for a long time !

6.GRANITE CLEANER

Ingredients : 1/4 cup of dishwashing soap 1/2 cup white vinegar few drops of baby oil spray bottle

Mix all these into a spray bottle and squirt away!!

7.STAINLESS SINK CLEANER

INGREDIENTS 2 cups Baking soda 2 table spoons hydrogen peroxide/ or Vinegar .

Sprinkle baking soda all over your kitchen sink and make a paste of the above stuff , I clean my stainless steel sinks with a paste made from hydrogen peroxide / Vinegar and baking soda. Rub over entire surface with a damp cloth and rinse thoroughly. This method also works on stained pots and pans. IMG_5964 IMG_5963 IMG_5971

I used Vinegar and Baking soda

IMG_6151

Alternate method is to use CIF Cream if and only if your sink is at its worst ! After you have cleaned your sink take a micro fibre cloth and a few drops of baby oil and give it a nice scrub and u will be amazed by the result !

8).DIY All-Purpose Citrus Cleaner

I havenโ€™t made this yet but i need to make this !

Ingredients 1 or 2 quart sized mason jars A spray bottle 1-2 quarts White vinegar Orange, grapefruit, lemon, or lime peels (any combination of these will work, too) Optional: 3-4 drops lemon, grapefruit, or orange essential oil

Instructions 1 Stuff any jar about half full of citrus peels 2 Fill jars the rest of the way up with white vinegar 3 Cover tightly with a lid and shake 4 Write the date so you donโ€™t forget! 5 Steep peels and vinegar 2-3 weeks (The longer it sits, the more potent it will get!) 6 Remove peels and strain through a fine strainer 7 Dilute 1:1 with water (one part citrus vinegar to one part water) and place in a spray bottle 8 Optional: add 3-4 drops essential oil to boost itโ€™s cleaning power 9 Use as you would your plain vinegar cleaner: on sinks, countertops, bathtubs, toilets, floors, etc.

There you have it ! All of my tried and Tested recipes for household cleaners !Pretty fantastic right??

IMG_6130 IMG_6131

First pic is with Flash ! I forgot to on the flash second time ! ๐Ÿ™‚

I have tried many different products and never have I received this clean results with commercial cleaners ! and those who know me , the messed up home surely lives on Vinegar !! These natural cleaning ideas and solutions are offered as a way to minimize the use of toxic substances in your home and reduce environmental harm. Results may vary and are not guaranteed.

Always test in small, hidden areas before applying any cleaning solution. Always use caution and keep the products and homemade solutions well-labeled and out of the reach of children.

P.S. ย Donโ€™ย’t forget to check out The messed up home Facebook Page !! ย Itโ€™s a great place to ask questions on how to make things or for specific tutorials that you are looking for. Iโ€™ll be happy to find them for you !!

5 thoughts on “HOME MADE CLEANERS !!

Leave a Reply

