Bento Lunches @ the Messed up home .

ME AND BENTO

bento 1                  IMG_5314
I started making bento Lunches in June 2015 ! yes two weeks ago I was mesmerized by the world of Bento !
So my story behind Bento lunches is that last year Sun (DH) & Poohcoo (DD) were not taking lunches to office and school respectively ! The reason for poohcoo was “ food didn’t look nice mommy” ! As for Sun ,he just ate Office lunches because it was readily available !

It was the last straw for me When Poohcoo’s Lunches came back home Just the way I sent them to school ! I had to start making changes in our lifestyle and Eating habits ! anyone who looks at Poohcoo always tells me “ you don’t feed her at all!! Look how skinny she is !etc etc”, then It Struck me , How about decorating the Food for her to eat ??

This year I promised my self no more half eaten lunches bought back home ! That’s it ! and I started searching google for various lunch menus etc etc , and then stumbled upon Bento Lunches, I thought I could incorporate both Adult lunches and Kiddie Lunches at the same time with same ingredients and food !

So after a little bit of experimenting over the summer holidays I started making these lunches and Voila ! both lunch boxes come home Empty!! YAY!!

SO WHAT IS A BENTO ?

A bento is simply lunches packed in a box or container , It originated in Japan. The Japanese terms Charaben or Kyaraben refer to making food look like characters/ cartoons .

The term bento is represented more into a themed like character type lunch. My definition of bento is packing little and decorated food in a lunch box, of course with Lunch notes !!

IMG_5314

WHY I MAKE BENTO LUNCHES ?

Since I have to pack lunches anyway, it may as well be fun for me too. It does take a little more time and effort but I think it is worth it.

Making bento lunches has become a creative thing for me ,the end result is fun lunches for the kid(s). Poohcoo loves to see what I am making for their lunches and always helps me pack her snacks !

It encourages healthy eating,Making healthy food fun and cute encourages my family to try out something that they never would have ! so sneaking in Veggies and Fruits is an amazing feeling !

You get to collect cookie cutters and amazing samdwich presses and clay moulds etc ! This may not be at the top of everyone’s list but shopping baking stuff for me is fun, I do admit I have a small hoarding tendency 🙂 when it comes to Bento lunches !!

HOW TO START MAKING A BENTO LUNCH ?

bento2

I personally follow Just Bento Website for all my needs for Bento making ,I suggest you do the same . Here is her Link –http://justbento.com/handbook/getting-started-bento-making.

More tips and everything related to Bento Making is on her website Since I am starting out very new here , I don’t have anything yet to write more about it .

UNTIL THEN TRY NOT TO BE A BENTOHOLIC LIKE ME !!

 until then Happy Bento Making !! 

Leave a Reply

